h1

Pencil Versions!

November 5, 2008

I’ve received a lot of emails and messages over the last month, wanting to see some of the pencils for many of the pages for that first 8 on Zuda. Listed here are 4 of the 8 pages with notes for each. Please drop me a comment below – it’s an open comment area – no need for an account or anything. I would love to hear what folks think of the sketches.

Page 1 Pencils

Page 1 Pencils

Page 1 inset panel 2 pencils

Page 1 inset panel 2 pencils

This was one of those pages that went through a few revisions before the final version. looking back on it – I am pretty happy with the way this page turned out. The last panel on this page was erased and redone about 3 times, each with a different perspective. If there was one thing I would change on this page – it would be redo that first panel – give it a different perspective that might better illustrate the drip coming off the pipe.

Page 3 Pencils

Page 3 Pencils

 This was actually the first image ever created for Azure.  When writing the script there was this image that I couldn’t get out of my head, and as many artists who work on sequential stuff do – I had to jump ahead to this juicy image to satisfy that creative itch. The medium I used here was watercolour pencils – black only. I highly recommend them for anyone who wants a slightly textured but blended feel. They offer far more control than regular watercolours. Most of the monitors and screens were created seperately. Only 1 used a heavily-altered stock image (on the bottom right in front of Azure). The others were either images created or paint overs from photos I took. The large image below Azure was an image I developed with a lot of help from the folks at Google earth. I started by raising the water level on a 3D model of earth, and then adjusting a NASA image to reflect those water level alterations. I then added craters in a few choice locations and altered the colours to work as a monitor image. The base image I used for this can be found here.

Page 6 pencils

Page 6 pencils

This was probably one of the most satisfying pages in terms of the pencils and the final version being a near perfect marriage. Pearl went through a few revisions on her architecture. I did this page at a Starbucks in Catonsville, MD.

Page 8 pencils

Page 8 pencils

This one many of you have asked to see. It was another one of those coffeeshop sketches – this one at Bean Hollow in Elicott City, Maryland.

6 comments

  1. Gorgeous pencils.


  2. Thanks Tyler 🙂


  3. Great work! The page №6 is awesome! I love the backgrounds and architecture, you did a really good job with details 🙂


  4. Hey there Ki-sama! Thanks for the compliments. That is probably my favourite of the first 8 Zuda pages. Glad you dig all the little touches and I will try to keep it up in coming pages 🙂


  5. Saulone (Daniel)

    Those are some fantastic looking pencils, very beutiful. I am very much looking forward to seeing your update on Zuda, you did sign the contract didn’t you? 😉 Anyways, good job! It was hard to see them through the some of the digital effects, but they really do give your finished pages a strong foundation.


  6. Hey Miticis (Chris),

    Thank you muchly sir 🙂 You and me both on the update! I haven’t signed anything yet, but I suspect Zuda’s legal team are putting the paperwork together right now. I know what you mean about not being able to see the pencils throught he finished work at times. I think, looking at the newer pages, the style has been really solidified in a form I think folks will enjoy. The best of the artwork on Azure to date.



Leave a Reply

