h1

Update on production – Page 20 and counting…

September 7, 2008

It’s been a while since I’ve made an art update, soo… I am at page 20 now. It is coming along nicely, and I took a bit of time to work on well, this blog, in an effort to get more info out to people about the comic. I have been a little leary about posting anything live, as I have wanted to keep things as much on the DL as possible as to not hurt my chances or disqualify me from the Zuda competition should Azure get accepted. Thankfully a few kind Zuda winners have informed me it is fine to post something of this nature so long as actual pages and mention of being in a competition prior to it going live are not posted here.

4 comments

  1. What was your inspiration for this story line? How do you achieve the water effects so nicely?


  2. Hi Kim,

    I had a lot of influences. Books – in particular the “Dies the Fires” series by S.M. Stirling – a great read – speaking to what would happen if technology and even certain chemical processes ceased to function on a global scale. Another would have to be movies. Probably more than even I am aware of. I am a bit of a movie whore. The abyss has always been a favourite of mine. Aside from that – history in general. Reading over the steps in technology that we have taken and the leaps in our understanding of our universe and planet, just in the last couple of years, it is staggering to see how far we have come in such a short time. It seems each year there is a new leap in technology. I still remember buying VHS tapes and Music CDs :).

    As to the water effects – I do too many things to count or even detail here, but in general layering is key and the layer modes I use also play a big part. I sometimes use textures, and almost always use reference. It’s nice to be able to see something prior to sketching it out, though I do illustrate a lot of the characters and vehicles without references. It also helps to have grown up snorkeling and diving and spent a lot fo time underwater ๐Ÿ™‚


  3. Hello, I’m new to this project, so I have a few questions. What’s the total production timeline looking like?


  4. The schedule I have put together takes me to November 11th completing all 60 pages. I could complete it earlier but then…I wouldn’t sleep and my girlfriend and dog would be severly upset. ๐Ÿ™‚



Leave a Reply

